The Human Dignity Award

The Human Dignity Award is presented by Senator Rónán Mullen with the support of the All Party Oireachtas Life and Dignity Group to a person or group who have displayed an exemplary dedication to advancing the cause of human dignity. This special award was established in 2014 to honour the outstanding contributions of those whose work reflects their tireless commitment and a spirit of self-sacrifice. The award is ratified by members of the All Party Oireachtas Life and Dignity Group, the successor to the Oireachtas Human Dignity Group first established in 2008. The group’s mission is to promote an authentic vision of human rights in the Oireachtas and in civil society, emphasising the right to life and dignity of every human person.

Previous award winners include:
2014: Magnus MacFarlane-Barrow and Mary’s Meals in Malawi
2015: Barney Curley and Direct Aid For Africa
2016: Gena Heraty and Our Little Brothers and Sisters Orphanage in Haiti
2018: Br Kevin Crowley and the Capuchin Day Centre
2019: Sr Consilio and Cuan Mhuire
2022: Ronan Scully and Self-Help Africa